Local pickup available at the Arts & Crafts Shop. 55 Berkeley St. Toronto. Tues & Thurs 11am-4pm

Broken Social Scene - Let's Try The After Vol. 1 & 2

Broken Social Scene - Let's Try The After Vol. 1 & 2

Regular price
$40.00 CAD
Sale price
$40.00 CAD
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Broken Social Scene is less a rock band than an embodiment of an ideal of music.  The collective can be 17 musicians, brought together in search of a common goal – a unique clearing house for many of Canada’s most talented musicians – or Broken Social Scene can be the smallest, most intimate affair.  Their two new EPs, Lets Try the After Vol 1 & 2, celebrate every facet of their creativity.  The tracks are nakedly emotional, celebrating life in all its complexities – and which also, by extension, celebrate the very act of carrying on, for Broken Social Scene as a band and for us in a fractured world.  The EPs exhibit the band’s tremendous gift for pop that refuses to sit still, that combines experimentation and melody.

Packaged together on vinyl exclusively for Record Store Day in April 2019, the LP is now available for sale online.

It’s pure BSS: atmospheric intro, surging post-punk rhythm, big chorus, lots of little melodic squiggles happening in the background. - SPIN

a piece of characteristically warm and huge old-school indie rock. It’s exactly as tuneful and triumphant as you’d hope. - Stereogum

Such forceful beauty—a sense of indefinable, life-affirming ecstasy—is practically woven into Broken Social Scene’s DNA at this point, and Let’s Try the After is proof that their genetic makeup is as complicatedly pure as ever. - Pitchfork

Standard Jacket, plain white inner sleeve. Standard Black vinyl, download card

1. The Sweet Sea
2. Remember Me Young
3. Boyfriends
4. 1972
5. All I Want
6. Memory Lover
7. Can't Find My Heart
8. Big Couches
9. Let's Try The After
10. Wrong Line