Local pickup available at the Arts & Crafts Shop. 55 Berkeley St. Toronto. Tues & Thurs 11am-4pm

Charles Spearin & Josephine Runsteen - Thank God the Plague is Over

Charles Spearin & Josephine Runsteen - Thank God the Plague is Over

Regular price
$10.00 CAD
Sale price
$10.00 CAD
Shipping calculated at checkout.

This is a digital only product

Broken Social Scene / Do Make Say Think’s instrumental mastermind Charles Spearin and Swedish violinist Josefin Runsteen (Ane Brun, Mariam the Believer), two complete strangers from different spheres of music, met at a 12th-century castle in northern Italy in July 2019. They were invited by Feist and Damien Rice, among a handful other fantastic musicians and artists from various countries, to a week-long residency to collaborate on music, poetry and ideas.

Castel Campo, once owned by the Von Trapp family (yes, from The Sound of Music), is nowadays owned by the Rasini family, who warmly opened up their hearts and home to this small group of artists. Near the castle on the grounds is a little chapel; anyone who enters this chapel, religious or not, cannot help but sense a humble sacredness emanating from every corner. The Renaissance frescoes that adorn the plaster ceilings are beautiful, but what connects one to the heart of the place is the ancient graffiti covering the walls. Hundreds of years ago, scrawled in Latin, are the words “Please, God, save us from the Plague” and then, over top, are various symbols of gratitude painted once the Black Death had finally moved on.

On the first day of the residency, when Charles and Josefin had barely exchanged a word to each other, they went up to test the acoustics in the Chapel, and began improvising on their instruments. Charles, the Canadian, brought his nyckelharpa, a Swedish folk instrument, while Josefin, the Swede, brought her violin. Immediately, they were astonished by colourful
explosions of sound, and they felt an instantaneous, profound musical connection.

They decided to meet there every day and record their improvisations. These explorations are collected here as their debut album, Thank God, The Plague Is Over, a title that proved even more prescient and relevant than they could have ever imagined for the year 2020. It is an album of not just hope and beauty, but – like the topic that inspired it – one of survival and
fierce gratitude for making it through to the other side, for making it back to life.

1. The Hills Are Alive
2. Chiesa di San Vigilio
3. Trust All
4. Breathing with you, with me
5. Istäcke
6. Hoppla
7. Blæðandi Tungl (Feat. Gyða Valtýsdóttir)
8. Sparven
9. You are Loved
10. Time is a Measurement of Desire