Local pickup available at the Arts & Crafts Shop. 55 Berkeley St. Toronto. Tues & Thurs 11am-4pm

Jason Collett - Head Full of Wonder
Jason Collett - Head Full of Wonder
Jason Collett - Head Full of Wonder

Jason Collett - Head Full of Wonder

Regular price
$35.00 CAD
Sale price
$35.00 CAD
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Jason Collett's seventh studio record, Head Full Of Wonder, is a collection of eleven new tunes that hone in on the Toronto troubadour's fine craft of songwriting, offering a resplendent yet simple set of folk music distinctly of the moment, lifted up by the spirit of music itself. A mainstay of the Arts & Crafts family, Collett is a musical and literary fixture whose deft lyricism has documented the evolution of the atmosphere around us, ever since the founding of Broken Social Scene. A distillation of the five years since 2016’s Song And Dance Man, the new album offers some of the most poignant and honest creations of Collett's storied catalog. Lead by the sweet sunrise of "Dark Times," Collett takes inspiration from a famed Bertolt Brecht epigram on the first single: "In the dark times / will there also be singing? Yes, there will be singing / about the dark times." With the antidote to the din of the days, Collett layers breezy, jangly melodies over his own patent prose, answering yes “you can really get that feel in dark times.” Stepping out of his usual creative orbit, Collett recorded in Toronto with Montreal producer Marcus Paquin, drummer Liam O'Neill (of SUUNS), guitarist Joe Grass, and bassist Mike O'Brien (of Zeus), in sessions that flowed seamlessly, capturing a magic that was near fleeting. "In absorbing the tumult of the times, there's a lot of shit to write through, (that Bruce Cockburn line comes to mind, "you've got to kick at the darkness until it bleeds daylight") and the challenge is to get to the other side with something positive to contribute," Jason says. "I let go of some swagger and embraced intimacy and joy and wonder. I hear this in the record and it makes me very happy to have made it.”

1. Dark Times
2. Everyday Sunflower
3. Milk & Honey
4. Just Before The Rain
5. Hot Mess
6. Have Some Fun
7. Silver Dollar Moon
8. Right On Woman
9. Closer To The Truth
10. Come On Sun
11. Up The River
12. Sweet Water Sea

Vinyl units are a pre-order item that will be available in Feb 2023. Shipping of the units will begin then.